Fertile Journeys

June 16, 2010

Sleep Training

Filed under: Uncategorized — by lhoham @ 8:11 pm

I finally have a few moments to myself! Yay!! And the reason for these much needed evening moments you might ask? Sleep Training!

Sleeping has been getting progressively worse since I went back to work and took a dramatic turn for the worse when our daycare provider quit (with no notice). Nathan hasn’t done well with these changes and he’s been extra clingy to me. And while I love to feel needed, I can’t sit in his room with him all night so that he doesn’t wake up without me there. Just. Not. Possible.

So I decided to let him cry it out (CIO). And you know what? It worked like a charm!

The first night was rough – they always say it’s the hardest because the baby WILL cry and you just have to let them go. And I did – for 1 hour and 45 minutes. And then he slept through the night!

The second night was 3 minutes of crying, third night was 2 minutes, and fourth night was NO crying! He has gotten up in the middle of the night a few times (around 3am) and seems legitimately hungry so I feed him but he goes right back down with no argument. If he is able to go down in the evening for bed, I have no problem getting up for the occasional night feeding. We’ve had a few hiccups – two nights ago he cried for 7 minutes and he’s currently on 2 or 3 minutes tonight, but that’s okay. He’s making GREAT progress and I’m a MUCH happier Mommy!

Nathan and I met with our new nanny today which was good. She came over to get to know Nathan better and get used to our schedule. She seems awesome! while this is a big change from having him go to an in-home daycare, I think this will all work out for the best having a nanny in our own home! But, boy, has it been stressful! Yikes!

I really wanted to write a whole post about breastfeeding, but I haven’t found the time. I’m still nursing Nathan and loving it! It’s actually funny because I was really intimidated by it before I started. I knew I wanted to do it because I felt it was best, but it scared me. I had so much trouble in the beginning with my milk coming in very late (late day 5) and Nathan losing weight. We had to use a supplemental feeder for a few days while waiting for my milk to come in. It’s the most ridiculous contraption where a catheter is taped to your boob so the baby thinks the milk is coming from you and not the catheter. It helped us ease the transition and helped Nathan learn how to get better at nursing. Now, he nurses so well! I also pump while I’m at work which is inconvenient, but worth it. We haven’t spent a penny on formula and he is happy and growing well. Plus, I really love the bonding we get while nursing. It’s relaxing, too! My original goal was to nurse for six months. Now that I’m over three months into it, I want to go at least to a year with nursing and pumping. I’d rather not use formula at all and at a year transition him to cow’s milk. Of course we will start adding in solids at some point probably around six months or so. I also plan to make my own baby food and freeze it – I’ll let you know how that goes! 🙂

4 Comments »

  1. I’m so glad that the sleep training went so well for you and Nathan both. Sometimes they just have to learn how to things our way, and then they adapt. I am so thrilled that breastfeeding is going so well for you. I just love it when mothers take the time and invest themselves into thep process. Our bodies were designed to do this so using excuses doesn’t fly with me. I think that one year goal is completely obtainable. 🙂

    Comment by Amy — June 17, 2010 @ 9:03 am |Reply

  2. We did a controlled CIO awhile back and yeah, night and day difference. Everyone was much happier and they’ve gone to bed great since. GL on the feeding – we made most of the girls’ food and wasn’t too bad.

    Comment by Jules — June 17, 2010 @ 12:15 pm |Reply

  3. I’m proud of you Linds, I didn’t think you could do the crying thing! Yay!

    Comment by Karen — June 20, 2010 @ 10:09 pm |Reply

  4. If you are going to make your own baby food, I 110% recommend the Beaba Babycook. It is spendy, but so worth it! You can make babyfood out of whatever you please (broccoli, spinach, watermelon, magoes–but probably not all together!), instead of the standard peas, green beans, banana that Gerber provides. It is compact and quick, and the baby food actually tastes *good*. How’s that for an unsolicited advertisement? My daughter (now 19 months) never had one drop of packaged baby food and now she is such an adventerous eater. I credit it to feeding her such a wide variety of baby food using the Babycook.

    Comment by Sabrina — August 23, 2010 @ 2:16 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

