Fertile Journeys

April 7, 2010

Loving Life!

Filed under: Uncategorized — by lhoham @ 7:06 pm

I’ve heard other Mom’s say how they are “loving their life as a Mommy and wife.” I couldn’t wait to be able to say the same thing. And now I can!

Life is so amazing as a Mom. I’m so in love in a way in which I never knew existed. I mean I love others in my life, but this is….different. I feel closer to my husband with this bond we now share. The world looks different through the eyes of a Mom. I’ve felt that since the day we brought Nathan home from the hospital. And it’s so true.

Nathan is 4 1/2 weeks old now. He’s growing so big! He’s almost out of newborn clothes and diapers. He’s getting so long! He rolled over at 4 weeks old from his belly to his back! And the next day he started batting at his toys over his head on his play mat. He held his rattle briefly this evening, but that was short-lived. He’s trying to learn to smile, but thus far I haven’t gotten more than a sly gassy grin! It’s coming though! He makes the funniest facial expressions. My favorite is when he makes this “oooo” face with his mouth (as if he was saying “ooooooo”). It’s so darn cute! He loves his play mat for about 20 minutes or so until he’s bored. He won’t sleep in his crib, so he sleeps in his swing at the moment. He breastfeeds really well. He doesn’t fuss too much except when he needs something. And he’s slept through the night on more than one occasion! He typically goes between 5-7 hours, but he’s gone as much as 8 hours before at night. I guess he likes to sleep just like his Mommy! He loves his car seat and going for rides and walks. We take lots of walks around the neighborhood or downtown.

The first few weeks were really overwhelming, but things are settled down and we have a good routine. We have feeding down pat and are enjoying our new lives! I can’t say enough good things about being a Mom. Not that I ever (seriously) thought about giving up, but I’m so thankful I didn’t. I’m not sure I’d go through everything again (the fertility drugs, the tough pregnancy, the horrid delivery), but it sure was worth it. He is amazing!

One of my favorite things – when he falls asleep on my chest.

My little monkey

Riley and Nathan – Brothers

Showing off his “ooo” face!

3 Comments »

  1. I always knew you would be a wonderful mommy! And I also knew you’d be a mommy. That little man is just too stinkin’ cute! He’s got such a little personality already. It is going to be so much fun to get to know him and see the world through his eyes…just like it was rediscovering the world through his mommy’s eyes way back when. Love you guys. Nana/Mom

    Comment by Mom/Nana — April 7, 2010 @ 9:32 pm |Reply

  2. Oh he is just absolutely adorable. I miss that little baby stage so much. I need to find someone around me who has a newborn so I can cuddle with their baby. My girls are big and on the move and I am both happy and sad about that.
    You are so lucky to have such a great sleeper. We didn’t get 5-8 hour stretches until they were around 3-4 months old. I’m so glad that your routine is established and the brestfeeding is going well. If you ever have questions about bf or pumping let me know. I am a wealth of knowledge there. Congrats!!!

    Comment by Amy from SK — April 8, 2010 @ 9:16 am |Reply

  3. So cute! I’m so glad you are enjoying being a mommy. It truly is a special feeling, and I think it forever changes you. Each day gets better and better. I miss those days of Micah snuggled deep into my chest. Cherish every second – it flies by so quickly!

    Comment by Tkeys — April 9, 2010 @ 2:01 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

