Fertile Journeys

February 2, 2010

44 More Days

Filed under: Uncategorized — by lhoham @ 5:48 pm

I feel like I should add an exclamation point at the end of that title…”44 More Days!” But, I’m not going to. Because right now, I’m feeling like it’s a never-ending 44 more days. 44 days seems like a lifetime. I know it’s not. I know it’s right around the corner. But, it doesn’t feel like that. I suppose perhaps it would go by quicker if I could sleep and I wasn’t feeling sick and my hips didn’t hurt, and I wasn’t short of breath, and the contractions that aren’t doing anything except waking me up at night would stop. THEN, maybe there would be an exclamation point. But after the last two years, it just seems like this uphill climb that I feel like I don’t have the energy to do. I don’t know – maybe it’s like rowing in a regatta. The last 500 meters are the hardest and worst of the entire race. You feel like your body cannot push any harder and you hurt from the top of your head down to your toes. It’s pure misery. But, then you cross the finish line, catch your breath, get some water and feel like you could race again. I suppose I’m just starting my last 500 meters and just need to deal with the misery and then it’ll be over and I’ll feel like I can do it again. I hope so because right now I’m so over being pregnant. And I’m not saying I really ever want to do this again (that’s yet to be determined), I just don’t want to be miserable anymore! And then there’s the whole issue that I really shouldn’t be complaining – we are so lucky and blessed to even have this baby that I should just be quiet about it. But, it’s my blog and I’ll cry if I want to!

For the most part, we are ready. We have the nursery almost completed. Just a few more things to put together. I need to wash some clothes for the baby and finish packing my hospital bag and his diaper bag. But, these are all little things. For the most part, we are done.

Anyway – now that I’ve written a completely useless and downer post, I’ll leave you with a nice belly shot. This was taken at 32 1/2 weeks.

Is it March yet?

1 Comment »

  1. hahaha, amazing how even when you’re in so much pain/misery, you still manage to keep a wonderful, upbeat sense of humor! I miss you loads!

    Comment by Diane — February 4, 2010 @ 12:09 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

