Fertile Journeys

December 30, 2009

A Year in Review

I got this idea from a friend’s blog that I read. It’s a year in review. I’m kinda tired just typing it 🙂 Enjoy the roller coaster ride!

January: Having just had our third miscarriage in a row two days after Christmas, we had a follow up appointment with my regular OBGYN. He referred us to the fertility clinic where we had our initial appointment /consultation. We also began all the initial testing (blood work, saline u/s, etc.). We learned that as far as they could tell there was “nothing wrong.” They recommended IUI with injectable medications. We also passed the due date of our first (and at that point, longest) pregnancy. The anticipation turned out to be much harder than the actual day.

February: We started our first round of injections to prepare for our first IUI. I am confident this will work. The meds turn out to be harsh – my whole body started to hurt. Though it though, I was hopeful and optimistic. We had our first IUI on February 26. I also started acupuncture in February.

March: We’re pregnant! I didn’t take a home test this round. I wanted to wait for the blood work. That was the hardest and longest wait ever. But on March 13, they called to tell me I was in fact pregnant. I had subsequent blood work done to confirm. We had our first ultrasound on March 27 and learned we would lose the baby. I stopped all medications and miscarried naturally the next week.

April: We decide to take a few months off. My body needed to recover. We go on a cruise to the Bahamas which was the perfect break and got us feeling in a better place. I am not optimistic at this point. I’m feeling down and out. And I’m not feeling like I can go through any more physically or mentally. On April 23 I have wrist surgery that needed to be done (but was being pushed back in an attempt to get pregnant). That drags on with over a month in a cast.

May: Start going back to acupuncture. I had stopped right after the miscarriage. Start getting back into a good place mentally. Go back to the fertility clinic where they recommend having exploratory surgery to make sure my uterus and tubes are okay. We agree that we should do the surgery before potentially having another miscarriage.  I start going to support group meetings at the fertility clinic. It lifts a burden off my shoulders and puts me in a solid place – mentally.

June: I have the laparoscopy/hysteroscopy surgery on June 9. They find nothing wrong. I am not relieved. I am mad. I am sad. There is no explanation for the recurrent miscarriages.  They recommend adding IV Intralipid therapy to my treatment for the next IUI. I get my first IV treatment on June 24 and have my IUI on June 25. I’m not totally positive this will work, but I am hopeful. I trust that everything is a gift from God and that we will get our happy ending. I’m also scared out of my mind.

July: We’re pregnant! (déjà vu). I take a home test on July 4 and see the faintest pink line you could possibly imagine. I keep taking them and the line keeps getting darker. I go in for blood work on July 9 and they confirm I am pregnant. I go back four more times for repeat blood draws to make sure the levels are doubling – and they are! We go in on July 16 for our first ultrasound to confirm a viable pregnancy (as much as can be done at 5 weeks along). They do confirm and tell us they only see one baby. We continue weekly ultrasounds.

August: We are transferred to the high risk perinatal center. It is hard and emotional to leave the fertility clinic. We end up really liking the perinatal center and feel good there. On August 25 I start to bleed. Thinking the worst, we race to the doctor’s office to find out that the baby is fine, but I have a sub-chorionic hematoma in my placenta. I’m put on modified bed rest.

September: I continue bed rest and weekly appointments at the doctor. The bleed is not healing. I’m starting to go a little nutty on bed rest. We find out we are having a BOY!!!

October: I am let off bed rest in mid-October. I am allowed to ease back into things, but not do too much. This is very hard. I have trouble walking further than the mail box and get very, very tired. Palpitations in my heart start bothering me and I begin having dizzy spells. I am sent to a cardiologist for an echocardiogram. They find out that I have a new leak in my heart (now the second valve leaking) and a slightly enlarged right ventricle. They tell me this won’t affect the baby and prescribe a calcium channel blocker for the palpitations. The medicine works like a dream and I feel like a new woman.  They tell me to get my heart re-checked after the baby is born.

November: I am still out of work. I am advised to stay out until we reach viability (which happened on Thanksgiving Day). I’m still easing into things like walking long distances and running errands. I’m enjoying cooking again!

December: I return to work after 3 ½ months of being out. I start part-time and worry that full-time will be too much. As soon as I go back to full-time I realize it is completely fine! I’m doing great and the baby is doing great. As of December 22, he is 3 pounds! The bleed has completely healed and I am feeling pretty good. I am having contractions (sometimes a lot of them), but they are not putting me into labor so they are not worrisome! I’m back to going to the doctor every two weeks (as opposed to every week). We enjoy our last Christmas as a family of three (dog included!). My husband begins putting the nursery together – furniture, etc. Things are really coming together!

So…here’s to a great 2010 as a family of four!!! Can’t wait! Happy New Year!

3 Comments »

  1. Wow, sounds like your year is turning out a lot like mine (though I don’t have a dog). Started back to work and am feeling much better than I thought I would. Surprisingly, the little contractions aren’t freaking me out so much any more and actually seem to be easing off a little – thank you God!
    It won’t be too much longer now till we meet our little ones in person – I just hope not for another 6 weeks or so. She still has a lot of growing to do in there…

    Comment by Kate — December 31, 2009 @ 12:44 am |Reply

  2. What a great recap Lindsey. The beginning of the year was difficult for you, but as the year rolled on, you began to see light at the end of the tunnel with a sticky BFP and getting past that bleed.

    I can’t wait to see what 2010 has in store for you as a family. I’m sure baby boy is so excited to meet his mom that has worked so hard to get him here.

    Comment by Amy from SK — December 31, 2009 @ 9:13 am |Reply

  3. Another post read with TIME, Honey. It brought back all of the really tough stuff and all of the hope and joy. This will be such a great legacy for Baby Boy when he’s old enough to appreciate it. Can’t wait to meet this little guy! Love you,
    Mom

    Comment by Mom — January 12, 2010 @ 8:19 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

