Fertile Journeys

October 13, 2009

Hodge Podge Post

Filed under: Uncategorized — by lhoham @ 12:46 pm

Is hodge podge even a phrase? Maybe I made it up. Cut me some slack. I haven’t had exposure to the outside world for more than a few moments in 49 days. Yikes! That’s a long time!

So things are doing fine here. I haven’t had any bleeding for almost 3 weeks! yahoo!!!! After bleeding heavily for a month, this is a great feeling. I’m starting to calm down about it, too. Before I was so sketchy about it – checking the bleeding 100 times a day. Now, I don’t even turn the light on when I use the potty at night. Of course I try to use the moon light to check things, but you know, baby steps! 😉

I’ve been really enjoying knowing that our baby is a boy. I haven’t gone too crazy with shopping yet – although I look online frequently (I have a LOT of time on my hands)! I’m struggling to keep his name a secret when I talk about him to my friends and family. I call him by his name at home and have to stop myself from using his name when I talk or write about him. I think he likes his name – it suits him for sure! We are still up in the air on middle names – we like 3 different names and just can’t decide. I’d like to figure it out soon – the planner in me coming out!

I pretty much finished my registry at Babies R Us. I know it’s still a bit early, but again, I have so much time on my hands. I’m going to buy a few things on my own when I’m able to go to the store again – there are a few things that I’d like to actually see/touch before I buy. I tried pretty hard to be economical about my choices and not go overboard on things. The one thing that I did got a bit crazy on was the monitor – well monitorS. I really would like the AngelCare Movement monitor that senses if the baby is moving/breathing – if not, it will alarm. That comes with a sound monitor. But, I also registered for a video monitor. I know I don’t really need both and I would rather have the movement/sound monitor, but I guess I’d like both. We’ll see – I guess that’s still up in the air! The breast pump is another thing that’s a little pricey, but it gets great reviews and I’m committed to breast feeding for 6 months and since I’m going back to work right away, I need a reliable pump.

Switching topics….

So the other day was really awesome. I was looking so forward to going with a good friend of mine to a jewelry party in the evening – I counted down the hours all day until the party at 7. I didn’t do anything but sit there, but I was with a bunch of gals and it was a wonderful break! And while I was waiting/counting down, I got a wonderful, no AMAZING care package in the mail!! My friends R & K sent this awesome care package that had the coolest stuff in it. And everything was labeled. It was so great! It had food, magazines, little toys, Mardi gras beads, Aveda body products, books, CDs, and more! It was the best gift EVER!!!! R & K have been such supportive friends. Our families will be forever close – I just wish we LIVED closer!!! Here’s a pic of the goodies they sent me!

IMG_1186

In other news, we go to the doctor for our weekly appointment tomorrow and have our anatomy scan! It’s not as dramatic since we already know it’s a boy, but it’ll still be fun! We’ll get to see his arms, legs, fingers, and toes and get some great pictures (hopefully!). I have a few concerns to talk to the doctor about as well though so that will be interesting. I’ve been having some weird issues this past week that are a bit concerning. I had two days where I got really weak/faint. My heart would start pounding, my toes and fingers felt numb and I go really shaky. It was quite scary. My heart has been pounding a lot lately without the other symptoms as well. That’s more annoying than anything, but I just want to make sure everything is okay. I suppose it could just be from not moving around a lot. So tomorrow will be interesting. It’s always something with this pregnancy! 🙂

Baby boy has been kicking me so much lately which is awesome. But, the funny thing is, if I put my hand over my belly, he stops!!! I think he likes my hand (or Ross’s hand) on my belly because he just relaxes and doesn’t kick at all. It’s cute, but I want to feel those kicks!!! I have to catch him kicking! I am feeling it a lot, but Ross hasn’t been able to yet! I hope soon, but it’s hard with baby boy playing games! hehe!!!

And finally – I told you this was a hodge podge post – Although I’ve been on bedrest, there is nothing that can stop me from preparing for Halloween. Riley dresses up each year. He has been Spider Man, a pumpkin, and a bumble bee. This year, he’s dressing up as a lobster! I ordered it online and it came a few weeks ago. I just have to share this picture of my adorable little boy. And yes, I do have plans already for next year. Both boys will be pumpkins – it’ll be a pumpkin patch! I can’t WAIT to take photos!!! LOL!!! So here’s my Riley. Happy Early Halloween!!!

IMG_1177

3 Comments »

  1. Keep on trucking with the bed rest. I know some days are really hard and boring but cuddle up with that baby boy inside you and enjoy the quiet moments. Everyone told me I would wish for those days back once the girls got here and I told them they were crazy, especially when I was stuck on bed rest at the hospital but now I secretly find myself wishing for a nice break where I can sleep for 8 hours and not get up to pump or feed the girls, but then I think about and know I wouldn’t change it for anything.

    I had to do my registry online for BRU and there were a few things that I wanted to touch and feel as well. There is nothing like looking at the things you want for your baby. I hope you get a chance to do that soon. The Angel Care monitor is a great choice. I hope you get that.

    Awww…look at Riley. So cute! Next year you will have lots of fun with Riley and baby boy. I can’t wait to find out the name once baby boy is born.

    Take Care,
    Amy

    Comment by Amy from SK — October 13, 2009 @ 4:45 pm |Reply

  2. So glad you & baby boy are doing well! I pray for you daily! Remember, each day on bed rest is one day closer to holding that precious little boy!

    Riley is adorable in his costume! I’m glad he’s feeling better!

    XOXO,

    Sarah:)

    Comment by Sarah — October 14, 2009 @ 10:18 am |Reply

  3. I can’t wait to find out what you are naming him!!! 🙂

    Comment by kathy — October 14, 2009 @ 8:53 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

