Fertile Journeys

October 2, 2009

It’s A…

Filed under: Uncategorized — by lhoham @ 4:18 pm

…..Boy!!!!! Yep! Our little baby is really a baby BOY! I could not be more thrilled! We found out quite early (at 15 weeks, 4 days), but he was really showing the goods and there is NO question!

We aren’t scheduled for our anatomy scan for another week and a half, but I asked the u/s tech to see if she could try and find out early for us. She happily obliged. At first, he wasn’t in a good position. His legs were crossed and not showing anything. Well, either he moved, or she got a better angle, because there it was….all the boy parts! So our little baby is now a little boy.

I guess I had always wanted a boy. It’s almost hard to explain why I was so overjoyed. I would have been happy with a girl, too, but the fact that it was a boy was just over-the-top excitement! It all feels so much more real now. I don’t think I had ever smiled so big in my whole life….my face hurt from smiling!

We also had a really great OB appointment. Bill the Bleed is about 25% smaller than he had been. He’s finally healing!!!! In fact, it’s been 10 days since I’ve had any bleeding! After bleeing for 5 weeks, that’s a welcome relief, let me tell you! I’m still on bedrest (day 38) until further notice. My best guess is another 4 weeks or so. But, that is subject to change.

Okay, back to the good stuff! I had such a blast telling my friends and family! First, I called my parents. I promised Ross that I would wait until after we were done with the entire appointment. Had my Mom had text message (hint, hint), I would have probably caved and texted her…but, alas, she doesn’t (YET)! At first my Mom didn’t pick up…I tried to stay calm (lol – I was freaking out!) and luckily she called right back. I cut her off from her explaining why she didn’t hear the phone and told her It’s a Boy!!!! hehe!!! I’m giddy just writing about it! So we talked quickly about how we found out so early and about how Bill the Bleed was doing, etc. But, then I just had to call my Dad. My Dad really wanted a boy. Yes, of course, he would be happy with a girl, but let’s be honest…he really REALLY wanted a boy. When he was at the ultrasound last week with us he “swore” he saw a little we-we. He didn’t really (you couldn’t see much detail on that one), but it was just funny because he really wanted a grandson!

So, my Dad was my next call…he was at work with all his cronies (he works with a fun crew) when I got to tell him and he was thrilled. He announced it to his office out loud and was really psyched. He said, “see? I told you I saw a we-we.” It was really awesome.

I called some friends to announce the news and everyone was excited for us! But, here’s the best part: telling my grandma. The back story on my grandma (for the purposes of why this is so important to me) is this: I’m really close with my Grammy. I don’t get to see her all that often, but it doesn’t matter – we are very, very close. We think a lot alike and can talk about anything. She’s amazing and such a role model. At my wedding, she got really sick with a heart condition (yes, actually AT my wedding) and was close to meeting the big guy. Fortunately, one of our friends saved her life (yes, literally) and took her by ambulance to the hospital. She has since made a full recovery. But, it was scary. So fast forward a little bit: I get pregnant the first time. She is THRILLED! My sister can’t have kids so this is a big deal. Then it’s gone. And we all know how that story goes so I won’t repeat it. One of the things that really bothered me was the fear that Grammy might not be around to actually see my baby. And (now this is stupid but it was bothering me), I was worried that I might not ever get baby blankets and outfits from her, yet my friends have. She loves to crochet and she makes tons of adorable things. And I had this fear that I wouldn’t be able to make a baby and that she would be gone, etc. etc. It really scared me.

Well, this baby looks like it’s going to be here for the long haul. And I’m so thrilled that I will be able to share that with Grammy. She even sent a baby blanket with my parents the last time they came up – my dream come true! My Grammy made a baby blanket for me! Not my friends, not my cousins, but me! I wasn’t sure that would ever happen. Wow. Okay I’m crying…moving on to the point…

Grammy has been telling me that she has both blue and pink yarn ready to go as soon as we told her if it was a boy or a girl. I called her on my way home from the doctor and told her that I know what color yarn she can use. At first she was confused (b/c I had woken her up from a nap!). I said, I know the gender! She goes “OOOOHHHH!!! Is it a boy?!” YEP!!!!! And I could just tell, from so many miles away that she had the absolute biggest grin on her face ever. A little boy. A dream come true. A dream that none of us knew might ever come true. And it’s a boy. Her first great-grandson. We have a LOT of girls in our family and a boy is just such a treat. And that just melted my heart. To hear how happy she was and to just be able to tell that over the phone was perfect. Really, the best day ever.

And to top off the day, we broke the bedrest rules and Ross pushed me around Babies R Us in a wheelchair so we could pick out a few important things that I did not want to pick out online. We picked out a crib, dresser/changing table, stroller, swing, and gilder. Then, we went to Olive Garden for lunch! Perfect!

And today? Today I woke up to my Baby Boy kicking me!!! Life really is good!

Oh – and yes, we have a name picked out, but we are not sharing! Sorry! You’ll just have to wait until March 18, 2010 to learn his name. For now, if anyone asks, it’s Cleatuss Kooter. 🙂

And some photos! There are none of the “boy parts” so I wouldn’t waste your time looking! LOL that was for his Mommy and Daddy’s eyes only!

15w4d A

15w4d B

He is waving to his Mommy and Daddy in this picture! You could actually see him waving during the ultrasound and teh tech tried to catch it in a photo!

 

15w4d C

And my 16 week belly shot. Starting to get chubby!!!

16 week belly shot B

3 Comments »

  1. This has to be the best post EVER! For the record, Dad and I would have been tickled with a boy or a girl, but you’re right, this is awesome and we are over-the-top about it. I loved what you wrote about Grammy (read with TIME!). As for his name, Kooter is kind of cute! Careful, it might stick! Cleatuss, not so much. Love you guys, Mom

    Comment by Mom — October 2, 2009 @ 7:00 pm |Reply

  2. Here by way of the LFCA…just wanted to say congratulations! I’m very glad that the bleed is also resolving. Having experienced the same thing early on in my pregnancy I know how scary it can be. YAY for a great appointment! 🙂

    Comment by Road Blocks and Roller Coasters — October 2, 2009 @ 8:25 pm |Reply

  3. Congrats on your little man!!! I’m so happy for you!!! Let the shopping begin!!!

    Comment by Sarah — October 5, 2009 @ 9:49 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

