Fertile Journeys

September 22, 2009

Day 28

Filed under: pregnancy — by lhoham @ 4:05 pm
Tags:

Yes indeedy, I have been on bedrest now for 28 days. That’s four weeks. One month. 672 hours. 40,320 minutes. 2,419,200 seconds. Yep. I really have nothing better to do than calculate how long I’ve been on couch arrest. Today there is a Law & Order: SVU marathon on TV though – so I’ve got that going for me!

We had a nice appointment yesterday at the high risk doctor. We took the whole entourage – me, Ross, my Mom, and my Dad. They took me back alone at first to check for domestic abuse (standard practice at each appt) and after that I asked the nurse very nicely if I could get a quick ultrasound so that my Dad could see the baby. After all we’ve been through and the fact that I’m the only producer of grandchildren in my family, the nurse happily obliged. She’s wonderful – have I mentioned that? They have two types of ultrasounds at my doctor – the real diagnostic ones (like the ones I get to check on Bill the Bleed) and the “feel good” ultrasounds that the RN’s give you to check the heartbeat. We got a quick “feel good” ultrasound with both of my parents watching. It was AMAZING. What a wonderful and awesome experience to share with my parents. I’m guessing it’ll be my dad’s only chance at seeing it since they live so far and he can’t take much time off of work so it was really special. I think he even teared up a bit. And the RN spent a lot of time with us – she let us watch the little one for quite a while. Baby was moving all around and even clenched it’s fist for us and wiggled all over the place! So unbelievably cool. I was so thrilled that my parents could experience that. My Mom had been to an ultrasound with us before, but for my Dad it was a likely one-time thing. And the RN even made sure to print a lot of extra photos for my parents and then congratulated the grandparents. Totally awesome! (Sorry – that was some solid 80’s speak). No need to share photos as they look almost identical to the last ones. The “feel good” ultrasound machines are not as high-tech as the diagnostic ones so the pictures aren’t as great. But, we still got some good ones to give to Gramps and Nana. Did I mention that’s what they will be called? Well, it is! πŸ™‚ Gramps is after my maternal grandfather – a beautiful tribute if you ask me. And Nana is cute and fun and not too “old lady like” which is what my Mom was trying to avoid. My dog, Riley, has been calling them Gramps and Nana for some time now so it’s not really a “new” thing. Didn’t you know? My dog is really smart and can actually say “Gramps” and “Nana.” Amazing.

I have been a bit anxious lately (I’m sure you all find that incredibly hard to believe). Bill the Bleed is not healing very well – hardly at all, in fact. And while I’m beyond the point of having a miscarriage, I’m still not out of the woods. And I’m just worried that this bleed won’t heal and it’ll somehow hurt the baby as the baby continues to grow. And I think this is the part that scares me more than anything: If I end up in the hospital at this point, I think they’ll put me on the L&D floor. I’m not positive about this, but I’m pretty sure. That’s freaky. I don’t want that to happen obviously, but it’s just scary to think that I’m that far…but I’m that far. Oh well. One day at a time as my Mom tells me. Today I’ve made it to 14 weeks 5 days. In two days I’ll be 15 weeks. And I have a baby that’s fluttering around in my belly.

Right – I didn’t mention that yet. I can feel the baby! I’ve been feeling it for a little over a week, but I didn’t know/realize what it was. It kinda feels like bubbles popping in my belly – very weird. I feel it more at night when I lay down in bed, but I can feel it during the day if I sit still and concentrate on it. The other night, Riley barked and it startled me enough that I jumped and the baby went crazy!!! It was moving all around like a little jumping bean. It was very cool. It does make me feel reassured. I just worry for the future. I know I’m fine right now, but what about tomorrow and the next day and the next week, etc? I guess the next big milestone will be viability. Well, with another small milestone in there – on October 14 we find out if it’s a boy or a girl!!!! Yes, we are finding out and I can’t wait! I really feel like it’s a boy, but who knows?! I keep calling it a “he,” but I think that’s just because I don’t like to call it and “it.” I’ll be happy either way – a healthy baby is all I am looking for. I will say though, I don’t have a clue what to do with a girl. It was only recently that I even learned the colors of the rainbow. Roy-G-Biv….A five-year old friend had to teach me (not without her own editorial comment “how do you NOT know the colors of the rainbow?!”).

Alright. That’s all I’ve got for now. My head hurts and Law & Order is calling my name. πŸ™‚ I’ll end with a fun photo of the signature I use on my message boards. One of the graphics girls made it for me and I absolutely LOVE it. Of course, I can’t keep it to myself!!! Cheers!

lindseysiggy

4 Comments »

  1. Lindsey I love love love the photo and the words! Such a miracle it will be. I will send you a personal e-mail of the tatoo a friend of mine got and I thought of you. Hugs and Congrats on making it to 14 weeks 5 days. At 42 weeks we will be laughing about 14 weeks 2 days and you will be wishing for that beautiful baby to just get out already.
    πŸ™‚

    Comment by Amanda — September 22, 2009 @ 9:01 pm |Reply

  2. Very cool graphic signature! Jungle theme and all! With all of the prayers and positive thoughts coming your way, I am certain enough for both of us that Little Bean is going to be just fine.

    Love you,
    Mom

    Comment by Mom — September 22, 2009 @ 9:01 pm |Reply

  3. Woops the second one should have said 14 weeks 5 days too.

    Comment by Amanda — September 22, 2009 @ 9:01 pm |Reply

  4. I’m so excited! I can’t wait until you find out if it’s a boy or girl!!!

    Comment by kathy — September 23, 2009 @ 8:57 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

