Fertile Journeys

September 20, 2009

Confessions of a Couch-Ridden Woman

Filed under: pregnancy — by lhoham @ 6:49 pm
Tags: , ,

I am so awful at updating my blog! Which is funny since all I do each day is sit on the couch allllllll day. Perhaps I just don’t feel like I have much to say. Plus, I think I’m getting dumber by the day. Is that possible? I’m pretty sure it’s happening. For every week on bedrest, I feel like I’m losing a year of education. So as of now I’m mentally back in high school – seriously not a good place to be. You know those old 80’s ads about drugs: This is your brain; This is your brain on drugs? That’s how I feel. This is your brain: This is your brain on bedrest. Not pretty. Today is day 26 of my incarceration. It doesn’t look like I’ll be paroled any time soon. I had an ultrasound last Monday which showed Bill the Bleed is smaller but not by much – like a millimeter smaller. It’s going to be a long haul to hopefully get back on my feet (literally!). Oh well. I can do anything for the baby for sure. It’s just not a lot of fun.

In other news: A very big congratulations to one of my SK friends, Kari. She just had her quads (yes, you read that correctly) the other day. The babies are just adorable!!! And Kari did such an amazing job making it to 33 weeks with those four! Such a great story!

I’ve started actually picking out things for the baby. I had done a little browsing, but now I’m full-out making lists and picking out fun things. I even purchased some sleepers and onsies the other day online. Ross got my box of baby things out of the basement. I haven’t gone through that box since we lost our first (other than to grab a sleeper for my very good friend, M, when she got pregnant a few months ago). It was a pretty big step. I also was able to open a gift my mom sent me that arrived the same day as my D&C for my first loss – unfortunately timing. My Mom and I are BIG into scrapbooking and she had put together a great gift of scrapbooking paper and embellishments for the baby’s book. It was a great gift made even better since she and my Dad made a surprise trip up to visit this weekend. It was due to a very sad event – my Mom’s Uncle (with whom she was quite close) passed away last week. We know it’s for the better and he was tired and in pain, but it’s still quite sad of course. So my Mom and Dad made the trip up to attend the services and gatherings and are staying at our house. It’s quite a treat and a bit of a silver lining to have them here. And unfortunately, due to bedrest, I have been unable to attend any of the funeral events. I’m missing seeing my family. As soon as I’m off bedrest, I will go to the cemetary and visit my Uncle who will rest next to my Grandfather.

I get to go to the doctor again tomorrow (once a week!). My Mom and Dad are coming with us so they can hear the baby’s heartbeat. My mom has had that opportunity, but my Dad hasn’t and probably won’t get to be up again during another appointment. It’ll be really great. I’m going to see if they’ll do a quick ultrasound so he can see the baby as well. I guess it’s kinda weird that I’ll be going to the doctor with my Mom, Dad, AND husband, but you know, whatever! And the icing on the cake is that we get to go to the Oliver Garden for lunch after!!! Yum-O!!!! I’m so excited about that! Soup, salad, and breadsticks! From there, my parents will go to the funeral and Ross will take me home. I wish my parents could stay longer. I pouted, but it didn’t work – Dad has to go back to work. Hopefully, they’ll come back soon!

Oh – I did have an ultrasound last week – here is a pic for your viewing pleasure 🙂

13w4d A

Something I’m looking forward to in the coming weeks: New primetime TV!!! Not that I don’t watch enough TV or anything, but I’m looking forward to the new seasons of Grey’s Anatomy, Private Practice, and Desperate Housewives! Oh, AND Dallas Cowboys Cheerleaders Making the Team – I love that show!!!

 Okay that’s all I’ve got for now – back to cross stitching, yelling at the TV, and spending endless amounts of time on the sofa….sigh!

4 Comments »

  1. Glad to hear you’re doing well! I’m sorry you’re stuck on the couch but it’s all for a good cause:)! Hang in there! You’re in my prayers!

    Comment by Sarah — September 20, 2009 @ 8:13 pm |Reply

  2. Sorry to hear about your uncle. I wondered what you have been up to since you haven’t updated in a while. I miss reading your blog when it hasn’t been updated. Anyway, I think you should blog every day even if you don’t have much to say, or at least every other day. 🙂 Some of us at work have nothing better to do and this is interesting stuff! Glad that you are doing well and that you were able to have a visit with your family even if it’s for the wrong reasons. 😦 Anyway, the baby is beautiful and you should be getting close to knowing the sex. Did you want it to be a surprise?
    Hugs!

    Comment by Amanda — September 21, 2009 @ 12:57 pm |Reply

  3. I totally understand what you are saying about the bed rest. That was my brain after a few weeks on bed rest. I still can’t believe I spent almost 15 weeks on bed rest. I was more tired on bed rest than I was working and I didn’t have the strength to post on my blog either even though I had all the time in the world.

    Sorry to hear about your uncle. I hope you are able to get up and about soon so you can go visit his spot.

    Take care and keep up the good work, I know how hard/annoying bed rest can be, but you are doing the best thing possible for you bean!

    Comment by Amy from SK — September 21, 2009 @ 1:47 pm |Reply

  4. Bedrest sucks, but glad the baby is doing so well! Just come up with tasks and use your computer to help you stay social. See if you can get your friends to take turns and come visit, and pretty soon, you should be allowed out for seated activities (like a movie). Hang in there!

    Comment by Tkeys — September 21, 2009 @ 3:12 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

