Fertile Journeys

September 1, 2009

Bedrest Day #7

Filed under: Uncategorized — by lhoham @ 2:52 pm

Wow – what a week! It has been a very scary week, but all is well. Here’s my story…

I went to work last Tuesday thinking everything was fine. We had an all-day meeting at the local hotel. The morning went fine – I was queasy and achy, but nothing out of the ordinary. I got Subway for lunch and ate with a friend outside because it was so beautiful. Around noon, I decided to use the rest room because we were headed into a 3 hour meeting. I went into the stall and saw it – blood. More than spotting, less than “full flow,” enough to scare the ship out of me. I told myself to hold it together – that I would just leave and go to the doctor. I would figure it out. So I flushed and washed my hands while the bathroom was filled with colleagues (big meeting). One of my very sweet colleagues started asking me how the baby was doing and how I was feeling. Well, I lost it. Here I am thinking I’m having my fifth miscarriage and just couldn’t handle it. So I said, “Um, I’m bleeding.” And then I collapsed. I fell to the floor in tears and my two colleagues who were closest helped me. They sat with me while I told them what was happening. They offered to take me home or to the doctor. And they sat with me while I tried to call Ross. He didn’t pick up his cell or the home, but I thought he was home. So I tried to pull myself together as best I could and left work to head home. I figured I’d get Ross and we’d go right up to the doctor.

Ross called while I was on my way home and I told him what was going on. I told him we had to go to the doctor right away. He hung up and called to cancel his work appointment for the afternoon. When I got home, he called the doctor for me since I was in tears and they told us to come right away. It was the longest 1-hour drive ever. I spent the entire drive thinking, “I can’t do this again,” “What will we do?,” Can we adopt?,” “Maybe I can’t have a child…” Once we arrived, the nurse took us right back and did a quick ultrasound….and…we had a heartbeat!!!!! Strong and steady and the little one was moving all over the place! Amazing. I cried happy tears of relief and the nurse told me I had to calm down so she could measure the heartbeat! From that point, they did a quick exam to try and find the source of the bleeding and couldn’t see anything. So I had to have another, more thorough, ultrasound. We were feeling such relief at this point that we still had our baby! The more thorough ultrasound revealed that I have a Sub-Chorionic Hemorage – a bleed between the linings in the uterus – or something like that. I really dont’ quite understand it. Due to the bleed, I was put on modified bedrest until further notice. They told me they would monitor it periodically and I would be out of work at least until it heals.

What a relief! But, bedrest. Oh boy. I was not prepared for bedrest.

Luckily, my Mom was already planning on visiting for a week – what perfect timing! She arrived on Wednesday night and immediately started taking care of me. She cooked and ran errands and made us turkey soup from scratch that we can freeze so we have lots of meals! She also kept me company and made me feel better when I was upset. Bedrest takes some getting used to and it’s certainly not easy. Luckily, I’m not on full bedrest. So I can still get up to shower, go to the potty, make a sandwich, and move from the bed to the sofa.

So…fast forward to Friday night. All is well – the bleeding is the same each day. Spotty, but not bad. I go to bed and wake up at 3:00AM needing to use the rest room. And then I see it – lots of blood. LOTS. I wake up Ross and have him come see. He agrees it’s a lot (not just in my head). We called the on-call doctor who told us I was either having another miscarriage or it was from the bleed. Great. We decided to go to our local hospital rather than head to the city to go to the big hospital. The on-call doctor told us any ER could diagnose what was going on. We drove the 3 miles to the hospital and only had to wait about 45 minutes for the ultrasound tech to be called in (we’re talking VERY small hospital). She did the ultrasound and again, we saw a heartbeat! Thus, the heavy bleeding was still due to the hemorage. They also diagnosed me with placenta previa. We later ruled that to be false because you can’t actually diagnose that this early. Phew – one less thing that’s wrong!

After that scare, I just hung out until our appointment yesterday. All went well. The bleed is still there – slightly bigger, but the doctor thinks it’s starting the healing phase. They won’t even check it again for two weeks because these things do not heal quickly. I’m on continued bedrest at least until it heals completely. We won’t have any idea how long that will take. It was a big outing for me and Ross even stopped at Wegmans to get me a soda (a special treat that I adore). By the time we got home I was exhausted. After being on bedrest for a week, it’s hard to do much of anything. We go back next Tuesday for a check up, but they won’t measure the bleed at that time. We just go for weekly check ups to make sure the baby is doing well.

So, here I am, on day 7 of bedrest. My Mom left this morning which is very sad. I’m going to just try and stay on a routine and pass the time. I’ve done some online window shopping and made a wish list at Babies R Us with my Mom since I can’t actually go to the store. I’ve also looked at maternity clothes online. I really want 7 for All Mankind maternity jeans on ebay since I’m absolutely addicted to designer jeans. If I make it to 13 weeks, I think I’ll treat myself. What the heck – I have all day to bid on them! LOL. I’m also looking at comfy maternity clothes that are fit for bedrest. You don’t really need real clothes when all you do is sit on the couch!

Thanks to all my friends and my Mom who have visited me this past week and talked to me on the phone. The visits help pass the time and I love to see everyone. My favorite little 5 year old came to visit me last night which was a real treat! When I asked him what was in my belly, he got quiet for a second, and then squealed with delight as he said “BABY!!!!” He’s going to be a great friend to this little one!

Anyway, as always, thanks for reading to the bottom! Have a great day!

7 Comments »

  1. Ack! This post has me in tears! I will keep you and your baby in my prayers. This is just so stressful! I cant even imagine… I just wish we could all have that innocence of pregnancy back… Sorry youre on bedrest, but of course, its for the best! I hope you find yourself some Seven’s… I didnt even know they made maternity pants! One day, I will need that information 😉

    Comment by Brooke — September 1, 2009 @ 4:21 pm |Reply

  2. Sorry to hear about the stress and bedrest but yay that baby checks out. (I was stuck on the couch for months so I feel your pain. There’s only so much you can look up online)

    Hope the bleeding resolves and you can get back to a litle moving around.

    Comment by Julie — September 1, 2009 @ 9:05 pm |Reply

  3. Glad you are hanging in there, and so sorry you’ve had a few scares. You’ve got a tough little baby in there, and all is going so well!

    Comment by Tkeys — September 1, 2009 @ 10:25 pm |Reply

  4. I’m sorry to hear about the bleed but it sounds as though things may be okay. Bummer about the bed rest though. I know all too well how difficult bed rest can be, but it is the best thing for the baby so you are doing a fantastic job taking care of your little one. Stock up on movies and good books and take it easy.

    Comment by Amy from SK — September 2, 2009 @ 8:28 am |Reply

  5. Hi Lindsey! I’m glad things turned out well. At least you have a beautiful house to be in while you’re on bedrest!! You should lay outside in a chair! It’s supposed to be sunny for the next few days. Being outside always makes me feel better 🙂 Let me know if you need anything!! Hang in there! 🙂

    Comment by kathy — September 3, 2009 @ 9:14 am |Reply

  6. I loved spending time with you and hoped it helped. Please tell Ross thanks for being such a good sport! I know it must have seemd like I had truly moved in…just what every husband wants: his mother-in-law living in the spare bedroom. I know these next few months are going to be rough with “IAS” (it’s always something”) as Gilda Radner used to say, but I hope you know I will do all I can to help you in any way.

    Love you,
    Mom

    Comment by Mom — September 3, 2009 @ 6:19 pm |Reply

  7. Oh boy… (or girl, I should say?) Lindsey, I had a terrible queasiness while reading your post. Thank goodness everyone, you, baby bean and Ross are okay!

    Designer jeans– remember our outrageous convos on 7’s and hemming pants? The PAWN SHOP??

    We’ll have to revisit these stories in October 🙂 Let me know if there’s anything I should bring up with me!

    Comment by Diane — September 7, 2009 @ 11:50 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

