Fertile Journeys

August 12, 2009

Tomorrow

Yikes! Tomorrow is my very last appointment at the fertility clinic. They are discharging me…O.M.G. I can’t believe we are to this point.

I, of course, have mixed feelings about leaving there. I go to a wonderful practice. They hold your hand (literally and figuratively) through everything. I’ve been in there crying and had my doctor holding my hands telling me it would be okay and that everything is a gift from God and that we would get our baby somehow. And now…after tomorrow…I’m done. No more super nice nurses with friendly smiles giving you hugs to wish you luck, no more awesome doctor giving you hope you never knew you could have, no more comfortable environment where every detail is thought of. Done. And that freaks me out. They are releasing my records to my new OB. Of course this is the happy ending we were looking for and I’m grateful and feel so blessed. But it’s scary, too. I love going there for my weekly u/s appointments.

On Monday, we will go for our high-risk consultation at the Regional Perinatal Center. We will listen to what they have to say and they will decide if we should remain high risk for some or all of my pregnancy. At that point, we will either stay with them exclusively, or go to them AND a regular OB, or get discharged to a regular OB exclusively. I do not plan on returning to my previous OB for this pregnancy. He’s wonderful and I like him very much. In fact, I recommend him to any of my girlfriends who are in need of a good OB – and a few have gone and are very happy. But, he is NOT a high risk doctor. He just doesn’t do it. And even if we are released from the perinatal/high-risk practice, I will to some degree, remain high risk. I will be taking medications and need some close monitoring (at least for a while). So, I will be looking into a different doctor. My nurse recommended a practice and I will likely go to them. I also want to deliver at the hospital which deals with the perinatal center and has a Neonatal unit. I just feel more comfortable.

So, I guess that’s it for today. I’m anxious about tomorrow and will probably even cry when I leave there. But, one day soon I’ll hopefully be able to go back there and bring my little baby which will be an amazing day! And, when we are ready to try for number 2 (clearly being very optimistic here…), I’ll be back there again for another round of drugs and procedures! And yes, I’m crying right now.

4 Comments »

  1. Wow how exciting that you are at this point!! Don’t worry, the nurses and doctor’s are (generally) super nice at the regular OB too – it’s such an exciting time, so it’s a naturally happy environment! Congratulations! Also – I love the maternity clothes pics, look at that baby growing!!

    Comment by Andrea Previti — August 12, 2009 @ 8:38 pm |Reply

  2. Honey…Another entry read with with TIME (BTW, Gail guessed the meaning of that acronym right away!). I would be very surprised if a high risk OB practice also doesn’t have very caring people, ready to hold your hand.

    Love you, Mom

    Comment by Mom — August 12, 2009 @ 9:21 pm |Reply

  3. Oh I remember how weird it was to leave the RE and go off and meet my new OB. I wish you luck and I felt comfortable with my perinatologist. Good luck!

    Comment by Amy on SK — August 12, 2009 @ 10:52 pm |Reply

  4. I’m a little late, but good luck today! I can understand the bittersweetness! This is such a long awaited happy day!!!! I am so thrilled for you! You’re one step closer to that beautiful baby!!!

    LOVE YOU!!!

    Comment by Sarah — August 13, 2009 @ 10:12 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

