Fertile Journeys

June 17, 2009

Cycle Day 4

Filed under: Infertility — by lhoham @ 8:46 pm
Tags: , , , ,

(Creative title for today’s post, huh?)

This week has been crazy so I’ve had limited time to post! I’ll give you the quick skinny…

I called the RE on Monday and they told me to come in yesterday (Tuesday) for my baseline u/s and b/w. I went in and everything looked great – no cysts or problems. My lining looked as thin as it should be for that day in my cycle and we are all set to go. They gave me the go-ahead to start the Gonal-f and Lupron last night. I’m on Gonal-f at 150 units and .05 units of Lupron. I also started back on the baby aspirin last night. I was in a hurry to get the shots done last night as I was headed back up to my RE’s office for my support group meeting. I forgot how un-fun giving yourself shots is! I was reminded of this and felt flushed as I attempted to stab myself (Ross was at work so he couldn’t help me). I did it and went to my support group only a few minutes late. So today was day 2 of the shots. I actually feel like crap already. I haven’t been this tired since the last cycle. I realized that today as I was struggling at work…these next few weeks are going to be trying. I go back Friday for a follie check and at that point I will hopefully schedule my intralipid therapy appointment for early next week. They anticipate my IUI will be late next week. Things are moving fast. Is it bad that I’m already dreading the 2ww (2 week wait)? Last cycle, I didn’t test at all during the 2ww, but I think I will this time. It was too emotional waiting for the RE’s office to call with my beta results. It still will be hard b/c I’ll want to know if it’s a viable beta number, but at least I will know if I’m actually pregnant or not.

I had a meltdown today. I just feel like sometimes I have nothing left and that this won’t work and how many times do I have to go through this without it working. BUT, I got over it. It was a solid temper tantrum that would put any toddler to shame. I know I need to try as hard as I can to be optimistic and do the best that I can. I know (at least I want to know and try to know) that everything is a gift from God. And He has a plan for me; I just don’t know what that plan is. And I can do this. It won’t be fun. It won’t be comfortable. It won’t be easy. But, I can do it nonetheless. So, with that I will move forward with my evening (which may include some newly-acquired lactose-free cookies `n cream ice cream!!).

1 Comment »

  1. I’m glad to hear that everything is going along smoothly – with the exception of feeling sick and tired (figuratively & literally speaking!) We’ll all help you get through the 2ww! I’m hoping and praying for you! You’re always in my thoughts!

    Comment by Sarah — June 18, 2009 @ 9:12 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

