Fertile Journeys

May 21, 2009

Asking For Help

Filed under: Uncategorized — by lhoham @ 6:55 pm

I had a lunch date with a 90 year old man a few weeks ago. I’m sure I don’t need to tell you that you can learn a lot from 90 year old men. Here’s the deal: I was in my big ugly cast (the fact that it’s ugly is besides the point, but it make me feel better to say it). I was trying to eat my lunch and I couldn’t break my bread to eat it. So my “date” reached over and broke my bread for me. He said, “Lindsey, sometimes you just need to ask for help.” And he’s right. We don’t always ask for help when we need it. Whether it be a matter of pride, stubbornness, or just shear embarrassment, we miss out on opportunities and make life more difficult when we keep our mouths shut. I’ve had to ask for a lot of help lately. Having the use of one arm has shown me that I need to swallow my pride every now and again. Take yesterday, for example. I went to Wegmans to grab some dinner and decided on a Panini and soup (yum-o, I know). I stupidly put a lid on the soup, paid for my goodies, and sat down. Easy enough, right? Not so fast. You can’t get a soup lid off with one hand…great. I can smell the soup. I can imagine the soup. But, I cannot access the soup. At this point I’m frustrated. I want the soup, but I’m embarrassed. (And mad at the first surgeon who cut my arm open twice and did both surgeries wrong leading to the third surgery that has left me one-armed…again, not the point). So, I pull myself together and stand in line again with my imprisoned soup to ask the nice girl at the cash register to open it for me. And she did. She freed my soup (which was delish by the way). I walked back to my table staring at the on-looker across the aisle from me – and told her how embarrassed I was. But, you know what? Sometimes people need help.

And while liberating my soup seemed very important at the time, there are other things I need help with at times. I need to ask my friends and family when I do need help without feeling ashamed of it. So, I will try to ask for help when I need it without feeling bad about it as I hope others will ask for my help when necessary. Because I would like to liberate someone else’s soup as that nice girl did for mine.

www.wegmans.com

2 Comments »

  1. Funny how asking for help can be so difficult. When did you become so sarcastic? (:

    Comment by Karen — May 22, 2009 @ 4:42 pm |Reply

  2. One small step for man…and the rest is history. Keep plugging and asking for help. You know we are always here to lend a hand/ear or anything else for that matter.

    Comment by MJ — May 25, 2009 @ 7:55 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

